Handmade Wedding Invites (useful tools and tips)

We decided in 2014 to get married in July 2015, but on one condition; we wouldn’t bother with things we didn’t like and we only had what we could afford. We’re simple folk.

 

The tedious job of stamping all of the RSVPs
The tedious job of stamping all of the RSVPs

Being crafty, I decided to commit to making our own invitations. So I started looking into the tools I would need waaaay in advance. Firstly, I thought about 2 things:

  1.  What was I capable and able to do
  2.  What was a quick way to make loads of invites

Back in 6th form I took A Level art and had ended up lino printing ‘Mein Hertz Brent’ images (by Rammstein) as part of a project. So I knew I could do it but I might be a bit rusty. I bought this kit off Amazon and gave it a go:

Essdee lino printing kit
A perfect kit to start lino printing

It comes with everything you need to start up and it was perfect for me to play around and work out if I could do what I wanted to do.

Next, we had to find an image/images that we liked enough to go on our invites. The image/s also had to be easy enough for me to lino cut out. I found a cool image (I am not sure where! -sorry!) of Batman and Catwoman looking at eachother. Which was perfect, as Matti wanted a ‘Comic / Batman wedding’. I then amended it to how I liked and traced onto the lino.

Lino cut of batman and catwoman looking at each other
This is the backwards design which, when printed, will form the front of our invites

(NOTE– don’t use copyright images for products that you intend to sell! it’s not your image so you shouldn’t make money from it!)  

IMPORTANT- you have to remember that you need to put your image onto your lino backwards, as it will flip when you print it. I suggest you try a simple pattern and a word to help you get your head round this. See this helpful Instructable project for more information: http://www.instructables.com/id/Linoleum-Block-Printing-1/

Once the design was drawn on, I cut it out- be careful not to cut it too deep! I loaded the brayer up and proceeded to make some prints:

batman and catwoman lino print on front of invite
Our comic, lino printed wedding invitations.

 

You will notice that the ‘&’ is missing from the lino cut. This is because I printed one then realised I’d cut the ‘&’ sign the right way round. Damnit! I didn’t want to re-do the whole thing, so I cut a separate ‘&’ out and stamped each invite with it.

I cut a separate small red heart out of lino; lined it up then printed, then lino printed the black, main design on top. Some of the registrations (the way the prints lined up) weren’t spot on. But you know what?-they’re handmade and I quite liked the’ rough and ready’ look.

More invites
Some invites- notice the registration of the middle-ish invite print there?
A table with printed invites, lino cut and ink roller
My littered working space: Multiple invites, rolling pin and loaded brayer and tray.

 

After printing the invites, I moved onto create a stamp for the menu (just for the people going to our ceremony that would then come to the food part, too) I wanted something kind of Parisian looking and came up with this:

Menu lino cut and stamp
Menu stamp cut from a circular piece of lino.

 

 

All of the menus; folder and printed
Menu stamp cut from a circular piece of lino. Loads printed here

 

Here’s a Picture of all of the Menus drying after being stamped.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The final pack looked like this:

Front of invite with RSVP and menu
Front of invite with RSVP and menu
First page inside the invite
First page inside the invite
Inside the invite: penny farthing (related to Matt's surname)
Inside the invite: penny farthing (related to Matt’s surname)
Inside the invite and menu
Inside the invite and menu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We got some blank postcards on Amazon.co.uk and used the stamps to print the info. We asked people to draw us a picture and send it back to us
We got some blank postcards on Amazon.co.uk and used the stamps to print the info. We asked people to draw us a picture and send it back to us

 

The inside of the invites were pinted and the RSVP was stamped with 2 stamps we got from Lidl and were able to load one up with text and have another with different text lined up.

Stamps; essential for DIYing cards or invites!
Got these stamps for Lidl and they have been amazing. So glad i bought 2!

 

More updates to come on future posts!

Vee x

One thought on “Handmade Wedding Invites (useful tools and tips)

Leave a Reply

