Upcycling: from box to book

20160311_175434I had to add an elastic band to the black book so it would remain closed

 


 


REDUCE.RECYCLE.REUSE


I love Clipper teas and I love reusing and repurposing items; so this little project was really enjoyable.

Inspired by a new swivel stapler I purchased for myself (I recommend buying one; it’s a great investment!) I decided to embark on creating some notebooks from random pieces of scrap paper and card I had. My very beautiful Clipper tea box decided to become empty at the same time so I used it as the outside of 3 notebooks.

How is it done?

I decided to use the two faces of the box to create two large notebooks. One is pictured here (the black one) and the other isn’t finished yet. I cut the scrap paper down from some stained A3 paper I had lying around. I cut the paper so it was slightly smaller than the cover, folded in half, stacked the pieces up then stapled through the fold.

20160311_174818.jpg

The other books were slightly smaller as they were made from the sides and the bottom of the box.

^ Click on the pictures to make them bigger


Different sizes

Here are 2 close-ups of the smallest of the 3 notebooks; I has some A6 sized flyers left over from an even so I folded in half and staples together; sandwiching the pages between the folded outer cover. The outer cover was created from two strips cut from the bottom of the box; it was most interesting because of it’s uneven and torn surface.

I also decided to add in a cute loop & knot to close the book.

^ Click on the pictures to make them bigger

Above is the medium sized book; I just loved the spoon design at either end of the box so I had them a front and back cover and staples the pages in-between. I scored the cover close to the binding staples so that, when used, the pages would have a good left edge to them which makes them easier to write on. I used the same method with the smaller book (above) – I have no idea what it’s called or even if it has a name!

^ Click on the pictures to make them bigger

Mochi cat loves the new books 🙂



Tips & things to try

Well I hope it’s been informative! My advice is to just have a go with whatever materials you have lying round the house. Why not try:

  • stitching the binding to make the books more recycle-friendly
  • or how about creating books with more pages?

I’d love to see how you make yours

 

Best of luck always,

Vee x

 

3 thoughts on “Upcycling: from box to book

Leave a Reply

