Homemade Rosemary, Mint & Lemon Sugar Scrub

img_20160709_143512.jpg

I have been buying a body scrub now for a few months and, just after using it in the shower today I had a light bulb moment; why don’t I just make my own!? It can’t be that difficult!

” It can be really difficult to think outside the consumer bubble”

 

wp-14680929660861
Freshly picked Mint and Rosemary, washed

I don’t know why I didn’t think of it sooner. I suppose it’s just like everything; you see it, you buy it, you like it, repeat. It becomes a normal process so little or no thought goes into purchasing the item again. It can be really difficult to think outside of the consumer bubble.

After my light bulb moment of making my owns scrub I tried to think of how to incorporate plants from the garden to reduce costs. I have a Mint plant that I’ve grown from a reduced price Tesco plant; it’s been growing really well and I’ve been using it for mint tea (see my Fresh Mint Tea post). I’ve also got two Rosemary bushes in the garden so I thought those would be good to use, too.

Obviously if you are going to use plants from your garden then you need to be 100% sure of what they are!

After the initial thoughts i had a look on google and found a few recipes. One recipe in particular I liked and it can be found here: MakeItLovely.Com. You can find my own recipe below:

Homemade Rosemary, Mint & Lemon Sugar Scrub

  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

A simple, cost effective body scrub

Ingredients

  • 2 Cups Sugar
  • 1/4 + 2 TBSP Oil (Vegetable, Grapeseed, Virgin Olive Oil etc)
  • 3 TBSP Lemon Juice
  • Handful Rosemary & Mint

Directions

  1. Pick and wash Rosemary and Mint
  2. Place all ingredients into a bowl and mix until thoroughly combined. You can alter the measurements of the ingredients to your liking.
  3. Once fully combined, add mixture to a resealable jar and keep it in your shower or by your sink for those times of need.

 

Best of luck, always,

Vee x

20160228_171946

Leave a Reply

