DIY Reusable ‘Liners

Make cloth sanitary towels to meet your specific needs by using just a few materials that you may already have.

After watching the ‘How To Use Hammer-On Snaps’ video (below) I was inspired and knew that I could, at last, attempt to make the sanitary products that I have wanted to for a while now.

Please note that these pads are thin, everyday pads; I suppose you could make them more absorbent by adding in a layer of flannel into the middle. The pads could be worn flannel or cotton side up; however I recommend the flannel side to be down, against the underwear as it will reduce the chances of the pad slipping.

For these pads, and in the instructions below, I traced around a cloth pad that I had already have that fits well. I have a few and some are shorter, some are longer and some pop-studs don’t remain closed. I really liked the one that I used as a template and I wished I had bought more of that size. The pice tag is a little offputting which is why I decided to make my own.

I was lucky enough to pick up a plain, basic flannel in Tesco for 25p from which I got 2 pads and cut the remainder of the flannel into Reusable Face Pads (as seen in my previous blog post, linked)

20160826_193319.jpg
The left-over flannel, cut into squares for using cleanser and toner.

These shouldn’t take you long and the best part is knowing that you made them. Follow the steps outlined below to make pads like mine

^ Click the pictures bigger

DIY Reusable 'Liners

  • Time: 1hr 30
  • Difficulty: moderate
  • Print

Make cloth sanitary towels to meet your specific needs by using just a few materials that you may already have.

You will need:

  • Scissors
  • Sharpie / marker
  • Flannel
  • Cotton fabric, pre-washed and size of the flannel
  • Sewing machine
  • Hammer-on snaps
  • Hammer

How To:

  1. Trace around a pad you already have that you like the fit of. Trace around it onto scrap card for a sturdy template 20160827_161626-1.jpg
  2. Cut out the template20160827_143246-1.jpg
  3. Pin the template onto the flannel and cut around it, leaving a 1cm gap around the edge. Repeat this step using the cotton fabric.20160827_162227-1.jpg
  4. Place the flannel and cotton fabric together with right sides facing inwards and pin well.20160827_162352-1.jpg
  5. Using a sewing machine (or hand sew if you wish) sew around the 2 layers of material leaving a border of 1cm. Cut in ‘v’ shapes on the curves in the material- use this guide.20160827_162801-1.jpg
  6. Turn the pad right side out
  7. Hand sew the open part of the pad shut; ensuring the fabric is folded inwards with the same seam allowance as the rest of the pad. 20160827_165058-1.jpg
  8. Use the sewing machine to sew lines through both layers of the pad. You can sew a pattern, an oval in the middle or whatever takes your fancy.
  9. Hammer on the pop studs, using the method shown on the pack or in the video, above. Et voilá!

Have you made any? Do you use reusable cloth pads? Let me know by commenting below.

Best of luck always,

Vee x

 

6 thoughts on “DIY Reusable ‘Liners

  1. Hello, can I ask if you’ve tried them? I thought by reading your post that it was quite cute (I mean compared to the idea of a DIY pad I had I guess) but that they might leak and also be hard to reuse (I mean be kind of rought after having been reused).thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hiya Marionchan 🙂 I use liners daily and the thickness in this tutorial are ideal. I own others that I purchased from Etsy that are thicker that will withstand more of a bleed. You will have to change them slightly more often than commercial plastic ones but they told up, once used, and snap shut. Also get / make yourself a small, lined (waterproof) bag that you can place used ones into. I think it’s a matter of finding what works best for you, personally and having a routine that enables you to wash the used pads once you are home. A little blood is nothing to be afraid of 🙂 x

      Like

Leave a Reply

